Hello, Foveaux

Foveaux Restaurant:

fov1
fov2

fov3-4
bread & amuse-bouche

fov5

entrée: smoked duck with broccoli, cuttlefish, duck cheese and umeboshi
Entrée: smoked duck with broccoli, cuttlefish, duck cheese and umeboshi
entrée: caramelised venison tongue with nham pla prawns, crispy pork skin, cauliflower cream, cashew, shiso and mint
Entrée: caramelised venison tongue with nham pla prawns, crispy pork skin, cauliflower cream, cashew, shiso and mint
main: kingfish with prawn-braised leeks, fondant potatoes, kohlrabi puree and white wine reduction
Main: kingfish with prawn-braised leeks, fondant potatoes, kohlrabi puree and white wine reduction
main: pressurised pork jowl and roasted fillet with  walnut, liquorice and fennel
Main: pressurised pork jowl and roasted fillet with walnut, liquorice and fennel

fov10-11

Dessert: strawberry mousse with lemon sherbet sorbet, tapioca and citric meringue
Dessert: strawberry mousse, lemon sherbet sorbet, tapioca and citric meringue
Dessert: chestnut gelato, chocolate, coffee cloud, pear and ginger
Dessert: chestnut gelato, chocolate, coffee cloud, pear and ginger

fov14-15
fov16

Foveaux Street is never a pleasure to trek up from Central Station, especially in heels, but what always is a joy is popping into Foveaux’s The Red Door Bar. The cocktails are consistently delicious and enjoyable, as are the friendly bartenders and sophisticated but chill vibe, so it was only a matter of time before I tried out the restaurant: Foveaux. I wanted to go for a more special occasion, and turns out it would be a farewell-for-now dinner date with my mother. But my anticipation was worn by the difficulty in getting ahold of anyone to make and then change a reservation – I tried spammi– calling numerous times and emailing to no avail, so I eventually had to go there in person to finalise it. Yes, yes, a first world problem, I know.. I feel that it was unnecessary though, especially after a very early and long day at a clinical placement and having to come from LIVERPOOL. What irked me most was the manager’s attitude, saying they hadn’t gotten any messages or emails I’d left, and when I promptly showed them via my phone continued on that they were low on staff and if I came again next time they would maybe offer a complimentary glass of wine or something.

I believe that customer service makes or breaks a place for most people, and making excuses and flimsy “maybe next time” offers for mistakes causing consumers waste their time and effort isn’t the best etiquette. So no, in a city where restaurants abound and vie for our attention and hard-earned money, I won’t be back. Life is too short and choices too abundant for bad or less than impressive service/people/movies/books/everything! Rant over.

Apart from that, my mother and I had a lovely evening chatting and eating and drinking, though it got quite loud in there somehow – there’s only room for about 30 customers at a time. The quirky and contemporary paintings on the walls, some with archetypal Australian icons, hinted at the fun fusion of contemporary cuisine to come. The meat dishes were cooked nicely, but I actually loved the sauces that gently and perfectly accompanied each dish more. Hats off to the saucier! Dessert was fine and a textural delight, but definitely lacking compared to the entrees and mains as is usually the case in restaurants.

All in all, I thought it was just okay. Okay, maybe better than “okay”. I’d recommend the food but not the desserts, and the wine list is quite limited. I won’t be back to the restaurant, but I still very much am fond of The Red Door Bar and would recommend it.

P.S: Happy Hour cocktails at The Red Door Bar are $10 from 5-7PM and oh so worth it! ; )

Contact Foveaux:

Foveaux on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

