Dessert & Diabetes

dd1
dd2-3output_87YBhYdd6dd7-8dd9-10dd11-12dd13-14dd15-16

Almost all of the posts on this blog have been food reviews and travel diaries.. but this is not specifically a food blog nor travel blog so here’s a more personal post (albeit food-related post, *facepalm*). I’ve always randomly arranged single plates and such of food, but it’s my first time bothering to do the styling and photography of a set.

What I Used:

  • a drizzly, lazy day
  • a small table
  • 2 small crystal glasses, 2 ramekins, 1 small bowl, 1 small plate
  • assorted handmade ‘senbei’/Japanese rice crackers, 1 punnet blueberries, 1 white peach, 1 yellow nectarine, 2 small red plums, 2 Lindt chocolate blocks (Coconut Intense & Passion Fruit Intense), 1 300ml bottle Choya’s Umehonori

I basically used things I had at home to make a blood sugar-spiking dessert set. The senbei and umehonori I bought from my trip to Tokyo, the rest from my local supermarket. Koreans (and many Asians) usually just have fruit for dessert, and I definitely eat enough (too much, really) of it daily. My usual diet is a pretty terrible one – about 40% fruit, 30% junk food, 10% dairy, and 20% home-made or bought meals. Not nearly enough vegetables, grains, fibre or other essential vitamins and minerals.. I’m always tempted to test my blood glucose level but get so scared it’ll show an elevated reading ūüė¶ and does studying up on, and personally seeing, diabetic foot ulcers and neuropathic limbs scare me into eating healthily and exercising? Does my exacerbated eczema stop me? It’s like throwing eggs at a wall.. No reaction, no change. I believe that¬†cognitive behavioural therapy may be in order T_______T

Anyway, I love my ‘umeshu’/Japanese green ume wine! I luckily got away with bringing over a few small bottles of it from convenience stores + a large one from Dutyfree while in Japan.¬†I adore umeshu for it’s balance of alcohol, sweetness, and deep ume flavour with a tang of tartness!¬†Although Choya is virtually synonymous with umeshu, this particular one clearly branded for younger women, boasting 55% less calories and 5% alcohol content – I wasn’t impressed with. It tasted like ume syrup in water (which it probably was, costing only a few hundred yen). I’ll definitely be sticking to the regular types with higher alcohol content and the actual ume in the bottle!

Since you can’t join in this set-up with me, enjoy this cute and random advertisement for Choya’s umehonori instead:

One thought on “Dessert & Diabetes

Leave a Reply

